Kinloss Abbey Trust


The Kinloss Abbey Trust was created in 2003 as the natural development of the Kinloss Abbey Working Group put together in the summer of 2002 by The Moray Council. The group was formed to look at ways of raising public awareness to the existence of the Abbey, to look at the general condition of the Abbey ruins and to consider ways to preserve the monument for posterity.

There are general members of the Trust known as the ‘Friends of Kinloss Abbey’. General membership is open to anyone, details on the Friends Page.

Purposes of the Trust

1. To promote for the public benefit the preservation and conservation of Kinloss Abbey and the increase of public interest in and knowledge of its aesthetic and historic importance.

2. To promote and stimulate the study and general knowledge of the history and heritage of Kinloss Abbey and its surrounding area and of local history in general with the object of improving and advancing the education of the public.

3. To advance the education and appreciation of the public in Kinloss Abbey by the preservation, conservation, exploration, interpretation, development and promotion of the abbey lands and buildings.

4. Such charitable purposes connected with the abbey, as the trustees shall from time to time in their absolute discretion determine.

Kinloss Abbey Trust Trustees

  • Mrs Kirsteen Mitcalfe
  • Mrs Judy Stewart
  • Mr Tom Duff
  • Major General Peter Grant-Peterkin
  • Dr Timothy Finnegan
  • Mrs Anne Skene
  • Dr Stephen Worth
  • Commanding Officer 39 Engineer Regiment, Kinloss Barracks